Hey there! This week, I’m doing something a little different than usual. Rather than post about how I write, I’ve invited another Evernight Teen author, Sarai Henderson, to talk about how she writes her novels! So let’s get to it:


The cover of HUNTER by Sarai Henderson.Hello everyone! My name is Sarai Henderson, author of HUNTER, published by Evernight Teen, a YA Urban Fantasy/Paranormal where telepaths hunt down criminals and work for the government. If only they could figure out which side is the good side… If you would like to learn more about Hunter’s world, check out an excerpt here. Also check out HOUSE of CHAOS, an epic fantasy where magic runs wild though the different houses, but not all who have power want to share it.

Elizabeth and I have decided to do a blog swap and reach out to each other’s followers about how we went through the process of writing our most recent novels. This is going to be a wild ride, so hold on tight.

The Club…

There are a lot of different resources for writers out there these days. Editors, query help, plot generators (of all things), Twitter pitch parties… Some work and some don’t. The one that I used a lot while working on Hunter was Sub it Club.

Sub it Club is a webpage and Facebook group where writers can come together and ask questions and receive feedback on their queries and ideas. As a first time author, there are a lot of dos and don’ts in the industry that you can’t just search Google for. Should I submit my novel to simultaneous publishers? What are the ups and downs of first person vs. third person? These are all questions I had at the beginning and they were all answered in the club.

The Pitch…

My favorite part of the club is the monthly post about all the upcoming writing contests. Pitch Wars, Pitch2Pub, SFFPitch, The Write Club, Son of a Pitch… there are so many and I’ve learned a lot through participating in these contests.

I’ve heard a lot of authors on Twitter bashing others who participate in pitch contests. They think that they’re for those who can’t put in the hard work with querying and that it’s a cop out… You know what I say to people like that? I’ve tried both sides and contests are more fun. And it was how I landed my publisher, so it can’t be all bad.

The Community…

It’s a small community that we live in. We support each other and lift each other up when we receive our one hundredth form rejection letter. We need to pull together and find a place where we can ask the seemingly stupid questions and have a treasure trove of answers to choose from. Find a community of authors. It’s the most important thing you can do.


Thank you for listening to my rants. Come join my community at exballerina.com for upcoming releases, appearances and announcements. Pick up your copy of Hunter or House of Chaos today…

