Yes, I’m still going on about platform building.

When I bookmarked the post I shared last week, it hadn’t been edited yet. So it was only when I read it all over again that I realized that she had added a companion piece: A more encouraging, optimistic piece about what you can do to promote your work:

Wait, Keep Talking: Author Self-Promo That Actually Works — whimsydark

I loved the first piece and didn’t think it was negative at all, but I love this advice, too.

Both articles are good examples of my self-promotion philosophy. Of course, take that with a grain of salt, because I don’t have a book to promote. I could promote my short stories, but I don’t. I put them on my publications list, I tell everyone (once) about them, and I go on my merry way. That’s it.

But I have a visceral–and possibly unfairly–negative reaction whenever a stranger asks me to read their book, and I get an uncomfortable amount of spam on Twitter. I know the BUY MY BOOK! BUY MY BOOK! promotion does absolutely nothing for me. Well, okay, that’s not quite true–it’s made me completely paranoid about how to promote my own stuff, because I’m afraid that other people will be as disgusted as I am.

So this all reads as very good advice to me: Make friends. Be sincere. Add value. Write.

I can do that.

