Cover of the Twitter for Writers novel.

Hotlinked from Goodreads.

My full review’s on Goodreads!

I’ve had a Twitter account for a couple years, and it never made any sense to me. Saying that makes me sound like I’m a zillion years old (and, well, maybe I am), but really, I’m a nerd. I’ve been online since the early 90s and I’ve gotten hip-deep in every stupid trend. But Twitter was a mystery to me–it was obviously not a good way to keep track of people or what they were saying. Everything everyone says goes by too quickly and is buried too fast. So what’s the point?

I ignored my Twitter feed for years. I used it to passively stalk agents. That’s it.

But then I picked up Twitter for Writers. It’s an exceptionally thorough overview of everything a writer might do on Twitter. It starts out with the painfully easy things–setting up an account, tweeting, and following people–but then dives into deeper concepts, like Twitter parties and automated tools. Best of all, it’s for writers, so it talks about things writers need to know, like how to promote your work without shoving it down your readers’ throats.

It also introduced me to some of the truly obnoxious things people do with automation. Did you know some folks use automated tools to force you to confirm that you’re human? Or to remove people who unfriend them? Or to create and send out tweets? Thanks to this book, I didn’t have to figure it out for myself–and I immediately started avoiding people who did these things.

This book is a little cutesy at times. It’s also extremely simple. (Though hey, Twitter isn’t exactly brain surgery.) The book is divided up into simple and advanced tips, but there’s no reason to read them selectively. They’re all easy.

If you know anything at all about Twitter, this might not be particularly useful. But for someone like me, it was great. I’m tech savvy, I just never cared about Twitter. But I get it now. I do. And thank goodness, because Pitch Wars (and now WriteOnCon) are both extremely Twitter dependent. This book was the kick in the butt I needed to get in there and start using Twitter properly.

