The wait is killing me. I desperately, desperately want to talk about the short story I sold, but I also really want to get the finished, signed contract in hand before I go crazy and announce it all over the internet. And while it’s probably OK for me to talk about it now, I don’t want to jump the gun until everything is final. So I am waiting. Waiting is hard.

In the meantime, let’s talk Lovecraft.

Photo of the e-book cover of The Complete Works of H.P. Lovecraft.

Image hotlinked from Goodreads.

I am generally not much of a horror fan. I don’t like gore, I don’t like being scared, and the tiniest little things make me squeamish. So, hurray for early 20th century sensibilities!

I got The Complete Works of H.P. Lovecraft off of the Cthuluchick website, where you can download the entire thing for free. It’s well over 1,000 pages of short stories.

H.P. Lovecraft’s writing is infamously wordy. Sometimes it’s downright florid. But despite that all, Lovecraft’s short stories are quite a lot of fun. By modern sensibilities, they’re more like ghost stories than horror. People stumble into tombs and graves, see unearthly horrors, and go mad. Mysterious and magical and sometimes horrible things happen, but none of it’s particularly scary. Everything truly awful is described as some sort of unspeakable horror, and almost everyone goes so mad they can’t even remember what happened to them.

They’re mystical, magical, and a little bit creepy, but they’re all exceptionally mild. If you can get past the occasionally obnoxious writing, they’re great. I don’t know if I’m really going to sit down and read all 1,000 pages any time soon, but I’ve been reading them off and on and thoroughly enjoying most of them.

