Oh my gosh, I need this book:

The Gospel of Combat: How Fight Scenes Feed Your Story | WritersDigest.com

I have spent most of my writing life writing horrible, blow-by-blow battles. I blame a lifetime of videogames and roleplaying. In fact, you know what? It’s almost all roleplaying’s fault. Obnoxiously detailed fight scenes are a staple of the online roleplaying world, and it teaches you to focus on the most pointless part of a fight scene: the mechanics.

I used to lovingly, agonizingly describe every single parry and thrust in an attempt to create a completely comprehensive, realistic battle. This is, of course, boring. No one wants to read ten pages of swordplay, no matter how accurate and well-researched it might be (and mine definitely weren’t.) This book looks like it has the right idea: Decide what is important about a fight scene and stick to that. How does it advance the plot? How does it develop your characters? Describe that and move on.

Which reminds me: I have a whole chapter full of running, chasing, and fighting to fix in my current manuscript. Ugh. I guess I’d better get to it.

