Oh, wow. The 2012 Guide to Literary Agents (yes, I’m aware they’re on 2014 now) listed the Chamein Canton Literary Agency. Since they did both YA and fantasy, I figured I’d glance at their website.

Annnnnd it was gone. I wasn’t sure if they had gone out of business, so I did a quick search. It was worth it–it was so worth it–because I found found this amazing thread. It includes cringe-worthy decisions, sleazy business practices, and Victoria Strauss from Writer Beware!

Chamein Canton Literary Agency (formerly Canton Smith Agency) – Absolute Write Water Cooler

…So, yes, they’re gone. I’m kind of alarmed that they were in the Guide to Literary Agents, and even more alarmed that they had been there for at least 7 years.

But Absolute Write is amazing. I checked several other agents on my list, and this forum regularly has a thread about whether they’re legitimate, how well they’ve done, and how quickly they reply. There’s a lot of other stuff in there, too, but forums drive me nuts. So I haven’t looked around.

