OK, this doesn’t have much to do with writing. This is just an amazing piece of history:

Encyclopedia of Needlework by Thérèse de Dillmont – Project Gutenberg.

(The zillions of HTML links are the chapters in HTML format. The other formats are for e-readers.)

This is a book on crafting from 1884. I’m fascinated with Victorian-era things, so I love it just because it exists. (It has advice on inserting boning into dresses!) But it’s a thing of wonder. It includes guidelines on just about every form of crafting you can imagine, including sewing, embroidery, knitting, crochet, lace, tatting, macrame… Tons of things. Seriously.

I wouldn’t try to learn from it, but as a historical example of a reference work, it’s amazing.

I really do have to come up with a magical yarnwork story one of these days. I don’t know how, but the moment I can make that idea not horribly embarrassing, I will have to try.

