Oh man. One of the folks I follow on Tumblr linked this the other day. It looks amazing:

Amazon.com: The Language Construction Kit (9780984470006): Mark Rosenfelder: Books.

I’ve always been fascinated with languages. My mother is a linguistics buff, so I spent my high school getting bombarded with tales of Indo-European languages, the evolution of Romance languages, and the history of obscure languages like Linear B.

When I was a high school student, I always tried to make languages for my stories. But–other than the fact that I was being totally pretentious–the fact that I knew a little about the construction and evolution of real languages worked against me. I knew the languages I was creating made no sense. So I stopped.

But now that I’m older and have a deeper repertoire than “I invented a language so someone could blurt out faux-cultural cuss words at random,” it’d be fun to play with this idea again.

Because, seriously, that language kit looks really cool.

