Photo of a carved pumpkin of a cat in front of the moon. In the background is a pumpkin with a carved out werewolf.

The mini-pumpkin I carved this year! Mine is the cheesy kitty, not the awesome werewolf.

Well, okay, that’s not entirely true. I haven’t been writing as much as I’d like to, but I’m still making progress. I’m at 30,552 words now. Woohoo! That puts me just a couple chapters short of halfway done.

But I haven’t been writing as much as I’d like to because I had to finish my Halloween costume. And now it’s done! Done! I’ll consider posting pictures, because it’s lovely.

It’s not perfect. I’m a beginner sewer, so I make lots and lots of stupid mistakes. There are uneven hems, visible hems, and at least one place on the back of the coat where one seam has split a few stitches. (I suspect I did something dumb like sewing that bit together with a basting stitch instead of a normal stitch.)

But it’s a costume and it’s OK that it’s not perfect. It’s not going to be subjected to the wear-and-tear of everyday clothing, and most people are nice enough to not nitpick the details in a Halloween outfit. (Note to self: Remember to hide from the acquaintance who’s pursuing a Ph.D. in Apparel Design.) It was a learning experience, and now I have something fun to wear around for Halloween.

And now that I’m done with that huge project, I can get back into my normal writing schedule again.

So, before I go, let’s part with one tiny little writing-related tidbit: One of the old saws is to “write what you know.” I’m pretty terrible about that. I like fantasy action adventures, but I can barely tolerate going on a simple hike. And hey, how often do American suburbanites find themselves in situations when their lives hang in the balance? If I were really, truly creative I’d find a way to make an action adventure on the stuff I do know: crochet, knitting, sewing, and baking.

But as a Magical Needlework story has never wormed its way into my brain, I’m stuck doing the same thing I always have: Writing cheesy action adventure stories based on stuff I’ve only read about. Hurray for research!

